Get a grip – compose yourself!

I have learned a lot about cameras in the past year.  The most important thing I’ve been learning is the act of seeing new things!

Here are some things I do to spark my creativity and get great pictures.

1.  The closer you look, the more you see. That phrase is basically my motto.  Basically, there are compositions everywhere.  In my case, I make macro photographs of small things like lightbulbs.

2.  Seek out the light. I’m sure this one just sounds like old news to everybody.  But I’ve found that looking up down, and side to side, lets you find the best light.  Since I mainly work with natural light, this is necessary for me.  It may not be as necessary for you, depending on your style of photography.

3.  Tweak your exposure. The most fun part of the shot is finding the shot.  “Great!  Look at this composition.  Aw crap!  The exposure sucks!”  You don’t need a crazy intricate knowledge of f-stops and shutter speeds.  I’ve found the most I need to know is memorizing the stops of the aperture and shutter speed.  For example, f2.8 to f4 is cutting the exposure and depth of field in half.  1/60 to 1/125 is cutting the time the shutter is open in half.

4.  Get back your childish glee. In my post-christmas happy stupor, I wrote about my childish glee on my other blog. Basically, look at the world with the excited eyes of a kid who doesn’t make judgement.  It can make your images a lot more happy and fun.  Not to mention, you more happy and fun.

I’ll leave you with an example.  I saw some light streaming through my window and liked the pattern on the wall.  I especially loved the color!  But then I realized I was wearing some sunglasses I got recently.  When I took them off the image just wasn’t as cool!  So, I solved the problem by putting the glasses over the lens and taking shots until I got the one I wanted.  Hope you like it!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Get a grip – compose yourself!

  1. Love it! I have run into the sunglasses situation before and thrown them over the lens. It usually makes for some great shots!

  2. I’m convinced that taking photographs helps to you see more. Interesting that you feel the same. Powers of observation seem heightened as soon as you have a camera in your hand.

Leave a Reply

