Victimized

A new year is almost here (for me at least – it depends on the time zone).  There are lots of posts about inspiration and doing what you want and achieving your dreams.  I guess my post is a little bit like that, but it is more what I have realized over the past year.

You are in control.

Every action you take, every thought you have, and every feeling you have, is within you control.  (Of course, I’m not talking to people who have clinical depression and have lots of trouble controlling their thoughts).  Once you stop feeling like a victim and saying “oh I wish this was better”, then you can start empowering yourself.

Now, maybe this sounds totally cliche.  I happen to think it is.  But oftentimes, cliches are there for a reason.  Lots of times the cliches are true!

Here are some choices I have made:

Instead of planning all the time, reading how to “hack life”, and reading how to save money in the future for the future, I’ve started thinking about what I can do today.  This blog is a result of thinking about what I can do today.  My idealog is a result.  My photography website is a result (shoutout to Andrew and Shelli – thanks so much for helping me work through my site problems.)

Also, I made a choice to be happy.  Instead of getting caught in negative spirals, I decide “I want to smile, look at my surroundings, and be grateful for what I have”.

Now, of course, I will tie this into my photography.  The empowered choice based minset has let me take pictures with the gear I have, get inspiration from the surroundings I am in, and take pictures of beautiful things that might not otherwise be beautiful, instead of waiting for the “perfect” situation for the “perfect” picture.

Basically, it boils down to this.  Either love the situation or change it.  You have the choice to do either.  You are never the victim.  Empower yourself and take responsibility.  Whatever happens, happens!

(My intent is not to sound preachy.  I apologize if I do.  Learning about how to make my life happier just gets me excited!)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Victimized

  1. Pingback: Happy new year « serene simplicity

  2. zenchoices

    Well said. I’ve found that viewing life as choices is one of the best ways to make significant change. I have also found that consistently making small choices leads to big whopping changes.

    In psychology, choices are often viewed as a stimulus and response. Sometimes looking at your day like this is fun and can really highlight the many choices that are always before you. We have a lot of power and freedom over our fate.

    http://www.zenchoices.com

    Thanks for the post.

    • Thanks for mentioning the (probably obvious) psychological tie-in. That’s what I love about being introspective – I can figure out stuff like this by reading and thinking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

